Photos for learning?!

I was browsing on Twitter and found a link to iPadU, it must be a PD that was taking place and the link takes you to the list of sessions and links to the resources.  One of the ideas mentioned was by Jonathan Wylie, @jonathanwylie.  The main idea is a photo scavenger hunt.  After my previous post about student blogging, I think this goes hand in hand with that idea!  The students could do this by day or week or standard and take pictures of the different things they learned.  This could be stuff they did or screen shots from their iPad.  At the end of each standard they could then use another app to make a picture collage of sorts with text and/or voice to explain what we are looking at.  In order to grade or check these, they would have to post it to their blog!

Okay – so now I am getting excited for this idea of student blogs. Someone please help me figure out the best way to do this and monitor them at the same time! HELP!  Our students have google accounts so they can use and create in Blogger I think.  Hmmmmm….my mind is racing!

Screen Shot 2014-07-05 at 2.13.17 PM

July 11 – How would my students describe me?:  Hmmmm….I think they would say I am a little crazy and expect the best from them.  I use a lot of minor sarcasm with my middle schoolers to show them that I expect more (i.e.: “Yes, please sit there and do nothing.” or “No, you don’t need to try that problem.  I put it in the notes for me.”)  That is my way of getting them to see what should be doing without getting upset that they are not doing what they should.  Some of my students would say I am passionate about math.  When I am trying to get them to make a connection or see something in math – I get a little into it!  It looks like I am putting on a song and dance show.  I don’t know what else they would say, but I hope they see I love teaching them! 🙂

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. bigtimeliteracy
    Jul 11, 2014 @ 18:44:24

    I’d definitely suggest using Blogger and it would be super easy for the kids to use! When I was in the classroom, my coteacher and I looked at the blogs on the weekends – having two people to share the work of reviewing student blogs made it much easier….but grading pictures might go a little quicker than grading three paragraph blogs about books. The kids will for sure love it, and it was so easy to just have to have my computer to get to all their work! Excited to hear about what you decide to do! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

  2. MadiMom1
    Jul 12, 2014 @ 13:55:34

    Very cool idea! Thanks for sharing!

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

